FacebookTwitter LinkedIn

Applications Open for Innovator of the Year Awards
Awardees to be recognized in Ag Tech, Clean Tech, Med Tech, High Tech

SACRAMENTO, August 6, 2015 — The Sacramento Regional Technology Alliance (SARTA) is seeking nominations for the 2015 Innovator of the Year Awards in Ag Tech, Clean Tech, High Tech, as well as the Claire Pomeroy Award for Innovation in Medical Technology. Winners will be recognized at the annual TechCon Sacramento conference at the Sacramento Convention Center on Tuesday, December 1, 2015. To be considered for the awards, the nominee’s invention or product must be in commercial use or approved for use. Innovators who demonstrate benefits generated for SARTA’s nine-county region – Butte, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Solano, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba – will be given priority.

The awards recognize individuals in the Sacramento region whose innovative and high-impact inventions, products or designs have transformed some important aspect of their respective technology sectors.
For the AgTech Innovator of the Year, SARTA will be looking for innovators in bio tech, food & nutrition, animal health, sustainable materials, farming technology, food safety, soil & water, etc. Last year’s winner was Lance Donny, Founder and CEO of OnFarm whose product integrates field, cloud and other information from multiple companies into a single cloud based farm information system.

For the Clean Tech Innovator of the Year, SARTA will be looking for innovators in clean technology sector which includes renewable energy, energy efficiency and demand response, environmental-enhancing technologies, and enabling technologies. Last year’s winner was Dr. Ruihong Zhang for her high-solid anaerobic digestion technology for organic and food. This technology is behind the success of CleanWorld.

In its second year, High Tech Innovator of the Year, will be reviewing a broad range of innovation that includes app development, cloud computing, gaming, big data and more. Last year’s winner was Jon Coss of Pondera Solutions, inventor of FDaaS, a pre-payment solution for detecting and preventing fraudulent claims prior to payment.

Nominees for the Claire Pomeroy Award for Innovation in Medical Technology will be recognized for important and high impact inventions and products (e.g. devices, drugs, diagnostics, medical IT services, etc.) that transform an important aspect of the practice of medicine and/or the delivery of healthcare services, making them safer, more effective, less costly, and/or more accessible. Last year’s winner was Joseph Smith, inventor of the Safer Lock™ locking prescription medication bottle manufactured and marketed by his company, Gatekeeper Innovation.

“The Awards are a way for the Sacramento region to celebrate, champion, and identify the many tech successes occurring right here. We anticipate upwards of 700 attendees at TechCon and see this as an excellent platform to recognize our innovators’ accomplishments,” said Howard Bubb, CEO of SARTA.

All application forms can be found online at The deadline for nominations for the Awards is Friday, October 23 at 11:59pm.


About SARTA and TechCon Sacramento
SARTA is the leading organization fueling the growth of technology companies in the Sacramento region. Established as a 501(c)(3) non-profit in 2001, SARTA is accelerating the development of the technology sector in the ten-county Sacramento region by linking technology leaders, entrepreneurs, investors, service providers, community organizations and educational institutions. Our mission is achieved through ongoing efforts to celebrate, build, inform and champion the region’s technology sector. For more information, visit

TechCon Sacramento, presented by SARTA, is bringing-together the region’s multiple tech sectors for a full day of innovation on December 1 at the Sacramento Convention Center. For more information, visit



Laura Good



Howard Bubb